October is Big for My Daughter, Me and Families

NWFMlogo_clrTXTI was cuddling in bed with my daughter this morning before we forced ourselves out of bed and into the morning routine when she said, “I can’t wait for tomorrow!” “Why?” I asked. “Because it is the first day of October!”

For her, this particular October means a collection of her favorite things all in one month, Halloween, her birthday, and the two of us making a trip to Minnesota to see my family that happens to coincide with that birthday. Never mind that it also happens to coincide with MY birthday (which hasn’t meant much after the day she was born, 3 days before my birthday) nor that the purpose of the trip is actually for me to promote my new book, This is Not How I Thought It Would Be: Remodeling Motherhood to Get the Lives We Want Today.

Well, it turns out that October is going to be a big month for mothers and families in general for a variety of reasons. For starters, October is National Work and Family Month, designated by the Senate in 2003 and in the House in 2008 and the Alliance for Work Life Progress has information and tools and resources for you and your companies.

Maria Shriver is very busy this month on these issues too. She’s hosting her annual The Women’s Conference in Long Beach. Sad to say I’m not going for the first time since she started hosting. I was out of town the day tickets went on sale and they are gone within about 15 minutes. But I’ll get to see Maria anyway. She’s also hosting a special series on NBC starting October 18th titled “The Shriver Report: A Woman’s Nation Changes Everything,” is modeled on a study undertaken almost 50 years ago during the administration of John F. Kennedy.

On the lighter side, there’s a new movie out on October 23 called simply “Motherhood” starting Uma Thurman, Anthony Edwards, and Minnie Driver. Though I’m always wary of the stereotypes about mothers in any movie, the trailers and interview with Uma make me think I might enjoy this one and either way it will provide plenty of fodder for conversation.

Then of course, there is the BIGGEST news of all in October, the release of my book, This is Not How I Thought It Would Be: Remodeling Motherhood to Get the Lives We Want Today. on October 6. Sounds like getting a copy of my book is a great way to celebrate October and I guarantee it will be a good companion for all the other festivities happening around mothers and families this month!

blogsignature

Leave a comment

Filed under Family Work, News & Commentary, Workplace and Employment

Leave a Reply

