BusinessWeek.com: Remodeling Parenthood To Get The Lives We Want

Screen shot 2009-10-08 at 6.28.45 PM

Please check out BusinessWeek.com for a great feature on This Is Not How I Thought It Would Be: Remodeling Motherhood To Get The Lives We Want Today.  Journalist Lauren Young writes:

What are the things your friends and family never told you about life as a Working Parent? Kristin Maschka, the past president and national spokesperson for Mothers & More, answers that question while addressing the myths and traditions associated with motherhood, parenting, and work in her new book, This Is Not How I Thought It Would Be: Remodeling Motherhood To Get The Lives We Want Today (Berkley Trade). She spoke to me about her revelations as a working mom.

The title of your new book is “This Is Not How I Thought It Would Be…” which begs the question: How did you envision motherhood?

The title is literally what I found myself saying or thinking to myself over and over after we had our daughter! This is NOT how I thought it would be.

Like many mothers I found there was a big disconnect between the way I thought motherhood in the 21st century would be and the way it turned out to be. My modern egalitarian marriage turned into something out of “Ozzie and Harriet” or “Leave it to Beaver.”

My previously successful career literally came to an abrupt and unexpected halt, which meant I lost colleagues, a paycheck, a big part of my identity. While I kept my name when I got married, when we had our daughter I suddenly lost it and became “Kate’s mom.”

Continue Reading >>

1 Comment

Filed under Articles, Book Review, Career-Life Fit, Workplace and Employment

One response to “BusinessWeek.com: Remodeling Parenthood To Get The Lives We Want

  1. Pingback: Cali Yost’s Remodeling Tools for Work+Life Fit™ « Kristin Maschka's Blog

Leave a Reply

